Dalmatian and German Shepherd

While this year of school is almost over, I thought it would be a fun idea to make some softies for my little brothers (I have got one brother who is 6 now, and the other is 3). They absolutely love a series called ”Paw Patrol”, so of course I had to make Marshall and Chase. But when I had made them, I thought they would fall from grace if I dressed them up like in ”Paw Patrol” (not that I do not like the series, I honestly think it is really fun). So before dressing them up I used them as a general pattern for a dog. With some variations you can basically make any kind of dog.

Here they are sitting on my couch:

DSC_0047

 


 

The pattern
I used a 4 mm crochet needle and matching yarn. You will need a darling needle, some fiberfill and a stitch marker. For the eyes I used 10 mm safety eyes, but you can also crochet eyes or embroider eyes on your dog.

Used abbreviations:

  • sc – single crochet
  • sl st – slip stitch
  • mr – magic ring
  • inc – increase
  • dec – decrease
  • FO – fasten off
  • ch – chain
  • ter – till end of round

 

Body

MR 6

  1. inc around
  2. *sc, inc* 6x
  3. *sc 2, inc* 6x
  4. *sc 3, inc* 6x
  5. *sc 4, inc* 6x

6-11. sc around

12. *sc4, dec*
13-15. sc around
16. *sc 4, inc*

17-22. sc around

23. *sc 4, dec*

24. *sc 3, dec*

25. *sc 2, dec*

26. *sc, dec*

27. dec around

Sl st and FO, close hole and leave a long end for sewing.

 

Head

MR 6

  1. Inc around
  2. *sc, inc * 6x

3-6. Sc around

  1. Sc 5, *inc, sc* 6x, sc till end
  2. Sc 6, *inc, sc 2* 6x, sc till end
  3. Sc 7, *inc, sc 3* 6x, sc till end

10-17. Sc around

18. *sc 4, dec* 6x

19. *sc 3, dec* 6x

20. *sc 2, dec*, 6x

21. *sc, dec* 6x

22. dec around

Sl st and FO, close hole and leave long end for sewing.

 

Neck

Chain 17

1-4. Sc around

Sl st and FO, leave long end

 

Ears

MR 4

  1. Inc around

2-3. Sc around

  1. *sc, inc * 4x

For normal ears:
5-9. sc around

sl st and FO, leave long end.

 

For drooping ears:

5-7. Sc around

  1. *sc 2, inc * 4x

9-11. Sc around

  1. Sc 3, dec 3, sc till end of round

Sl st and FO, leave long end.

 

Front legs

MR 6

  1. Inc around
  2. *sc, inc *
  3. Sc 4, dec 6, sc till end of round

4-16. Sc around

Sl st and FO, leave long end

 

Hind legs

MR 6

  1. Inc around
  2. *sc, inc *
  3. Sc 4, dec 6, sc till end of round

4-11. Sc around

12-13. Sc, dec, sc 4, inc, sc 4

14-18. Sc around

Sl st and FO, leave long end

 

Tail

MR 4

1-4. Sc around

  1. Sc, inc, sc 2

6-9. Sc around

  1. Sc, inc, sc 3

11-14. Sc around

  1. Sc, inc, sc 4

Sl st and FO, leave long end

 

If you use safety eyes, insert them between rounds 9-10. Sew everything in place. You can use my pictures for placement.

_20150620_164734 DSC_0054_20150620_164707[1]_20150620_164801

And that’s it! I wish you good luck with your project and I hope you like my pattern!

This entry was posted in Softies and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Dalmatian and German Shepherd

  1. I have been looking for HOURS on Pinterset and Google search for free patterns to use to create Paw Patrol dogs for grandchildren- THANK YOU. theses are perfect because they are not too small and look great. I willi adapt the Dalmatian to make Sky. STARTING right now

    Like

  2. I wrote a post, linked to your pattern and showed a photo of my results- thank you
    https://crochetingwithjoy.wordpress.com/2016/01/24/meet-crocheted-skye-from-paw-patrol/

    Like

  3. I’m so glad I found your site, I have another big Paw Patrol fan here and didn’t want to spend money on a pattern. Thank you! Did you ever make their outfits?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I finished my version of Skye, here’s my link:
    http://moodycatcrafts.blogspot.co.uk/2016/02/this-pups-gotta-fly.html

    Thanks for the pattern!

    Like

  5. Cindu says:

    Approximately how big are they?

    Like

  6. Pingback: Amigurumi dalmata e pastore tedesco - Free Amigurumi

Leave a Reply

