Zaza the Zebra

My new years resolution this year: to start finishing the unfinished.  I have a ton of projects I started but never ended. Sadly, because this year is (hopefully) my last year of highschool, I don’t have that much time to actually finish all of my projects… but I’m on my way! 😉

One of my unfinished projects was this zebra. It’s been a while since I posted a new pattern, I thought you might enjoy this one. It hasn’t been tested yet, so if you find any mistakes or have any questions, please send me an email on anonymouscrochet@hotmail.com . (Or if you just want to show me your zebras, I’d be delighted to see how they turned out! :D) You can also follow me on Instagram for pictures of my projects and for the adventures of the Traveling Dinosaur (@anonymouscrochet)!

dav

If you want to support me in making more patterns like these, please check out my shop for more patterns and even finished items!
Click here to check it out!

Zaza the Zebra: the pattern

For Zaza I used cotton yarn, with a matching 3mm crochet hook. It is of course possible to make Zaza with different yarn, as long as you use a matching hook.
You will also need:
– safety eyes (I used 8mm, feel free to use another size);
– some fiberfill;
– a darling needle.

Used abbreviations:

– sc – single crochet

– hdc – half double crochet

– inc – increase (2 single crochet in 1 stitch)

– dec – decrease (crochet 2 stitches together)

– MR – magic ring

– sl st – slip stitch

For Zaza’s stripes I used a stripe pattern: 2 rounds black, 2 rounds white, 2 rounds black, 2 rounds white and so on.

Head

Zaza’s head has a black nose. Start with black, switch to white after round 5. Then continue working in the stripe pattern.

Round Instructions
MR 6
1 Inc around
2 (sc, inc) 6x
3 (sc 2, inc) 6x
4-8 sc around
9 sc 11, 2 inc, sc 11
10 sc around
11 sc 11, inc, sc 2, inc, sc 11
12-16 sc around
Use the increases of rounds 9 and 11 as the middle. Put in safety-eyes between rounds 10 and 11, with 10 stitches in between. Fill the head with fiberfill.
17 sc 8, dec, sc, dec, sc 2, dec, sc, dec, sc 8
18 (sc 2, dec) 6x
19 (sc, dec) 6x
20 dec around

Fasten off and close the remaining hole.

For Zaza’s ears, follow the diagram below. Fold the ears and sew them onto the head on about the same height as the eyes, onto rounds 16-18.

dav

Body

In stripe pattern:

MR 6
1 inc around
2 (sc, inc) 6x
3 (sc 2, inc) 6x
4 (sc 3, inc) 6x
5-14 sc around
15 (sc 3, dec) 6x
16 sc around
17 (sc 2, dec) 6x
18 sc around
19 (sc, dec) 6x
20-23 sc around

Fasten off and leave a long end for sewing. Sew the body under the head.

Arms (make 2)

Start with black. After round 3, switch to white and continue stripe pattern.

MR 6
1 inc around
2-3 sc around
4 (sc, dec) 4x
5-14 sc around

Fasten off and leave a long end for sewing. Sew the arms onto the body’s round 17.

Legs (make 2)

Just as with the arms, start with black. After round 3, switch to white and continue stripe pattern.

MR 7
1 inc around
2-3 sc around
4 (sc 2, dec, sc, dec) 2x
5-16 sc around.

Fasten off and leave a long end for sewing. Sew the legs onto the bottom of the body.

dav

Manes and tail

Zaza’s manes are loops (chain 10), surface crocheted onto the head.
The tail is made of 6 strands of yarn, each measuring around 20 cm. Pull 3 strands halfway through his lower back and repeat this right next to the previous strands. Make the below knot +/- 5 times, and split the ends to make a fluffy end to the tail.

davGerelateerde afbeelding

You may sell your zebra but do not sell this pattern nor claim it as your own. You may of course link to my blog, please inform me when you do so! 😉

You like this pattern and want to support me in making more like them? Please purchase one of my paid patterns on Ravelry! 🙂 Check them out here: https://www.ravelry.com/designers/anonymous-crochet
Thank you in advance!

Leave a comment